Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award

The APhA Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award recognizes a community pharmacy residency director or preceptor who has demonstrated excellence in precepting, mentoring, leadership, and community pharmacy residency program administration. The award, established in 2003, is intended to recognize pharmacy practitioners who excel as community pharmacy residency directors or preceptors.















2018 recipient Kristin Casper with APhA Immediate Past President Nancy Alvarez  


Evaluation criteria

The nominee must be a pharmacist who is a member of APhA and director or preceptor in a community pharmacy residency program. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible for the award. Self-nominations are not allowed. Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically; not in rank order):

  • APhA and other leadership roles
  • Community service
  • Influence on the resident and/or residency program
  • Innovative practice/scholarly activities
  • Promotion/advocacy of community pharmacy residency training
Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1.

The nomination is to include the following items:

  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award is recommended, but not required.
  • Two letters of recommendation are required. One of the letters of recommendation must be from a current or former resident. A maximum of two letters accepted
  • A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé
Selection process
Selection is made by the past recipients of the award. Award recipients are selected based upon careful review of complete nominations.
Nature of award

The award to be presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition consists of an award, a $250 honorarium, and a complimentary meeting registration.

Past recipients:

2018  Kristin Casper

2017  Laurie Warrington Fleming

2016  Margie E. Snyder

2015  Joe Moose

2014  Cherokee Layson-Wolf

2013  Sharon S. Gatewood

2012  Melissa Somma McGivney

2011  Stefanie P. Ferreri

2010  Holly Divine

2009  Jeffery A. Goad

2008  Jean-Venable “Kelly” R. Goode

2007  Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner

2006  Warren A. Narducci

2005  Jay D. Currie

2004  Marialice S. Bennett

<< Return to Main Awards Page
Bottom Center Aligned